Alagappa University
(A State University Accredited with 'A+' Grade by NAAC (CGPA:3.64) in the Third Cycle)
Department of Biotechnology
Sponsored Department)

About us

The Department of Biotechnology was established in the year 2002. The Department offers a two year M. Sc., Degree Programme in Biotechnology and a Doctoral Programme leading to Ph.D. in Biotechnology from the Academic year 2002 - 2003. With the full financial support of DBT, Govt. of India, a One Year Post M. Sc., Advanced Diploma Course in Molecular Diagnostics was offered during the period 2008-2013. DBT, Govt. of India has extended financial support for strengthening of laboratory equipment to be utilized for M. Sc., Biotechnology teaching in 2009.  The Department has been undertaking research projects of National and International importance in the field of Biotechnology and attracted funds from various funding agencies such as Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Science and Technology (DST), Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), University Grants Commission (UGC), Dredging Corporation of India (DCI) and Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB-CSRP) independently as well as in collaboration with many National Institutes/Universities. The Department is also carrying out collaborative research projects sponsored by the industries such as Indian Tobacco Company Life Science Technology Centre (ITC LSTC), Bengaluru and Tablets India Limited (TIL), Chennai. The Department is housing a DBT funded National Facility in the form of Bioinformatics Infrastructure Facility (BIF) since 2006 and this Centre has received Incentive Awards from the Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India for getting the First (2013), and Third (2014 & 2015) positions in the category of BIF among the State and Central Universities for publication of papers in the journals of high repute.

A state of the art Proteomics Facility has been established at the Department with 2D and MALDI (Nature India Spl. Issue Aug 2015) and published papers in the area of proteomics in prestigious journals.  The Department has published more than 200 research publications in SCI journals since 2011 with an average impact factor of 2.4.  The Department has been nationally recognized by various funding agencies through the schemes such as DST-FIST (Level I, Phase I 2009-14; Level I, Phase II 2016-21), UGC-SAP (DRS I 2011-2016, DRS-II 2017-2022), DST-PURSE (Phase I 2011-2015, Phase II 2016-2019).  The industrial tie up has culminated in filing thirteen Indian Patents out of which two have been published.  Many students of the Department have cleared competitive exams such as DBT-JRF, ICMR-JRF, CSIR-JRF-NET, GATE, ASRB-NET, ICAR-NET, SET and TOEFL and secured top ranks.  The faculty members have won awards such as Tamil Nadu Scientist Award [Biological Sciences; 2012], Tamil Nadu Young Women Scientist Award [2010], Shri P. K. Das Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award [2016], BRSI Woman Scientist Award [2014], Shri P. K. Das Memorial Best Faculty Award [Senior category; 2012 & 2013], and Alagappa Excellence Award for Research [2015-2016].

Notice Board

1. Department has been elevated from UGC-SAP DRS I (2011-2016) to DRS-II (2017-2022) (NEW)

2. Department has been elevated from DST-FIST Level I, Phase I (2009-2014) to Level I, Phase II (2016-2021)

Alagappa University Biotechnology Department @ Karaikudi, DBTAU offers M.Sc. & Ph.D. in Biotechnology. Visit, official site of Department of Biotechnology, Alagappa University.
Science campus
Alagappa University Biotechnology Department @ Karaikudi, DBTAU offers M.Sc. & Ph.D. in Biotechnology. Visit, official site of Department of Biotechnology, Alagappa University.
Administrative Block

Site last modified 12 June, 2019

Copyright © 2005-2019 Department of Biotechnology, Alagappa University
All rights reserved